Swedish monarchs


The Vasa dynasty

Vapen för Vasaätten
Between 1397 and 1520, Sweden, Norway and Denmark formed the Kalmar Union, with all three countries being ruled by a single king. The final break with the union and the Danish king of the union began with the Stockholm Bloodbath of November 1520. The following year, in 1521, Gustav Vasa was named king and emerged victorious from conflicts with the Danish forces.