Royal Djurgården / National City Park

"I was glad that you could catch a glimpse of life on Djurgården, that you could see how the majesty of the oak trees depends on people playing and moving about beneath them."

In these words Prince Eugen, writing from his home at Waldemarsudde to the poet Verner von Heidenstam, alluded to the symbiosis of man and nature that is Djurgården. For centuries Djurgården has been a place to which we come for amusement and to delight in nature.

15th and 16th century

In the 15th century king Karl Knutsson, acquired "Walmund's Island" and ever since Djurgården has been administered by the ruling monarch, for benefit and pleasure.

Djurgården was thinly populated in the 16th century and mainly used as grazing land, King Johan III turned it into a hunting park, for which in 1581 he purchased ten reindeer, later adding deer as well.

The 17th century

Queen Christina was a frequent visitor to Djurgården, for ballets and firework displays. Later in the 17th century, Charles XI enclosed the hunting park. 

"sculling girls conveying lads and maidens out to play and disport themselves."

In the reign of Gustav III the emphasis shifted to amusement and recreation, and several taverns were established. Djurgården, though, was an inconvenient place to get to. The 16th century historian Olaus Magni describes "sculling girls conveying lads and maidens out to play and disport themselves."

Rosendal and the 19th century

Rosendal Palace was built for Karl XIV Johan (the first of the Bernadottes) between 1823 and 1827. Ever more splendid villas began to appear, such as Parkudden, Sirishov, Täcka Udden and Wicanderska Villan.

The 19th century also witnessed the birth of Cirkus, Hasselbacken, Gröna Lund, Skansen and the Nordic Museum, not forgetting many places of amusement on Djurgårdsslätten ("Djurgården Plat").

The first regular land transport links were a horse-drawn omnibus service between Gustav Adolfs Torg and Blå Porten and, starting in 1877, a tram service – also horse-drawn – from Slussen.

The Stockholm Exhibition took place here in 1897, and many of its buildings are still extant, especially round about Lejonslätten ("Lion's Plat").

In 1996 King Carl XVI Gustaf officially opened Sweden's first National City Park, comprising Ulriksdal, Haga, Brunnsviken and Djurgården.

Top image, photo: Gomer Swahn/Royalpalaces.se

View of Rosendal in 1828, painting by J.M. Christian Etzdorf.

L.W. Brandenburg's 1826 map of Rosendal Palace.

Since the 13th century, the park has been used for both business and pleasure. The photograph shows horses and a carriage from the Royal Stables during one of the daily training sessions on Djurgården. Photo: Charlotte Gawell

Visit us

Discover south of Djurgården and Haga Park with an app and audioguide – an interesting and accessible guides to the parks.

Read more

Download maps of north and south Djurgården, Ulriksdal Palace Park and

Read more

Discover more at Royal Djurgården / National City Park

The Royal Djurgården Administration put the area Royal Djurgården, Haga Park, Brunnsviken, Ulriksdal and the Fjäderholm Ilands at the dis...

Read more

In 1996 King Carl XVI Gustaf officially opened Sweden's first National City Park, comprising Ulriksdal, Haga, Brunnsviken and Djurgården.

Read more

Situated in Stockholm City and part of the Royal National City Park, Haga Park is one of Sweden's most-visited recreation area.

Read more

The Royal National City Park stretches as far as Ulriksdal, which is home to a royal palace with an extensive palace park.

Read more

The final resting place for several members of the Bernadotte dynasty, including Gustav VI Adolf and Queen Louise, is located on a point ...

Read more

The Fjäderholm Islands were first mentioned in a contract of sale from 1381. Today the Fjäderholm Islands are a popular destination both ...

Read more

Customer service

Opening hours:

FAQ

More FAQ